A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Archive for November 19, 2011

Mini Creation Update: The Therapeutic Power of Poetry

I just came across this post when going through the bass guitar tag feed on WordPress. Its about the creation of a haiku about the writer’s bass strap. I’ve considered different kinds for support and comfort reasons, but it never occurred to me that anyone would express their gratitude to one through poetry. 😉

And yes, I know that I should be practicing right now, while wifey’s at work.


My shirts came in!

So last week, wifey went shopping and got these tall brown cowboy boots. Somehow, this is for winter. Well, I decided to get something to keep myself warm too, only I did it a bit different. I went online and grabbed images of some of my favorite bass players and put them together into a picture on the computer. I then dug around and found a cool image of a bass cleff and ordered two shirts from SpreadShirt.com. I made 2 variations. The first one has Alex Webster, Jeroen Thesseling and Steve DiGiorgio on it. The 2nd has Cliff Burton, Steve Harris and Geezer Butler. The back of each is that Gigeresque bass clef.

Well, the shirts just came in. 🙂 They were apparently inspected by someone named Sydney. There were 5 or 6 different long-sleeves to pick from. I opted for the kind that looked like it would be wearable outside, and that looked like it could handle some additional layering underneath. Right now, pre-wash, I’m happy with them. Wifey’s going to be mad when I grab her after work this afternoon (yeah, she has a Saturday shift today). She also ordered some shirts from Indonesia and heard yesterday that it’ll take 14-21 days to arrive in the states. 😉 I think hers are Joy Division and The Smiths. They’re not customized like mine though. 😉

(more…)