A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Mini Creation Update: The Therapeutic Power of Poetry

I just came across this post when going through the bass guitar tag feed on WordPress. Its about the creation of a haiku about the writer’s bass strap. I’ve considered different kinds for support and comfort reasons, but it never occurred to me that anyone would express their gratitude to one through poetry. 😉

And yes, I know that I should be practicing right now, while wifey’s at work.

2 responses

  1. Thanks for the pingback (I think!) 😉

    This is a really cool blog and full of useful tips so I’ll be following you’re progress. (I only managed 1 lesson before deciding to go it alone…)

    I guess us bassists are independent types! 🙂

    Nic

    November 20, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    • vishalicious

      You’re welcome. 😉 I like your blog as well. There’s a good chance I’ll link back to it in the future. I like to do that to help people find interesting bass (or other related) information.

      Based on your video I think you’re a lot more experienced than I am. I’m really still wet-behind-the-ears. I actually had 2 lessons with an instructor before I decided that I was being subversively fed guitar information and chose to go it alone, but I’m beginning to feel that even though information is available via books and the internet, classes might help structure my practice and guide my learning.

      I’m most likely going to go the semi-independent route by attempting lessons at the International Institute of Bassists. Its only $25 per course. I’ve spent that much on a single book or CD anyway.

      Also – I like your avatar. We grabbed 2 packs of fake moustaches for my wedding and set up a picture booth. It was a hit. 😉

      November 20, 2011 at 9:45 pm

Leave a Reply

