A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Coursera – DYM Lesson 2 Peer Reviews

Peer review for the second week’s homework assignment for Coursera’s Developing Your Musicianship class began today. Like before, we have to review 5 assignments by Sunday and submit them. This week’s submitted homework was short, so I did 15 tonight. Each assignment that we graded had to be assigned one of these 3 scores:

0 = Disagree
5 = Somewhat agree
10 = Agree

Along with providing a score for each question, we have the option to include a comment as well. Under each comment field, a tracker lets us know how many words were written in our response.

Lesson 2 Peer Reviews

Our task was brief this week – write out the notes of the C major triads on a treble clef. We had to include the I (tonic), IV (sub-dominant) and V (dominant), making this C-F-G. We then had to upload a picture or scan of our work.

All of the assignments I looked at got the notes on the staff right. This was probably due in part to all of the triads in the C major scale being spelled out in the 4-page study guide. Some students provided more detail than others though, including solfege names and other information.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I like the solfege a lot. Its precise, which I appreciate. I need to learn it more. I think everyone knows do-re-mi-fa-sol-la-ti-do, but there are other names that fit in-between these that I’ve only seen a few times and need to familiarize myself with.

My comments to the students whose assignments I reviewed were one of the following:

  • Good job. You got the notes right and roman numerals right. You should consider writing their names as well – tonic, subdominant and dominant.
  • Good job. You got the notes right and roman numerals right. Yours is also the first I’ve seen that included the octave. You should consider writing their names as well – tonic, subdominant and dominant.
  • Excellent job. You included everything – chord names, roman numerals, solfege and the functional name. I haven’t seen anyone else do this. I actually don’t know enough about solfege to know if F major and G major are correct – I don’t know if they each get their own do-re-mi starting on their root, or if they assume the same sequence as the tonic, like you used.
  • Good job. You got the notes right. You should consider writing their names, the roman numerals and the function names as well – tonic, subdominant and dominant.
  • Great job – your handwriting is impeccable and you included the note names, chord names and function names. 😉
  • Great job – you included the function names. You should consider adding the note names as well (C, F, G).
  • Good job. You got the notes right and roman numerals right. You should consider writing their names as well – tonic, subdominant and dominant. The note names (C, F, G) could also be useful to include.
  • Great job. You made me stop and think a bit. This is the first answer I’ve seen that starts on a C that’s an octave higher.

So, overall, it looks like the entire class grasped this lesson, and my feedback was basically the same for everyone. The main differences I spoke to were about the amount of detail that the students incorporated into their answers.

One response

  1. Pingback: Coursera – Developing Your Musicianship Lesson 2 | Ugly Bass Face

Leave a comment