A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star

This isn’t directly bass-related, but as a history piece I found it interesting. Its an article that goes into the history and permutations of the melody in Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star. I’ve known for a while that its the same melody as Baa-Baa Black Sheep and as the ABC song, but I never knew that there were additional verses from a poem by Jane Taylor from back in 1806. I also didn’t realize that there were so many different variants of the song from other countries and cultures (Mandarin, Tagalog, Arabic, German, etc.).

The last few paragraphs also examine the musical structure of the song and why it appeals to so many people – including the different reasons that adults and children might enjoy it.

For those of you who are parents (or who just have an interest in this sort of thing), here are the other verses to the song:

Starry_Night_Over_the_Rhone_sliverTwinkle, Twinkle, Little Star
By Jane Taylor (1783–1824)

Twinkle, twinkle, little star,
How I wonder what you are!
Up above the world so high,
Like a diamond in the sky.

When the blazing sun is gone,
When he nothing shines upon,
Then you show your little light,
Twinkle, twinkle, all the night.

Then the traveler in the dark
Thanks you for your tiny spark,
How could he see where to go,
If you did not twinkle so?

In the dark blue sky you keep,
Often through my curtains peep
For you never shut your eye,
Till the sun is in the sky.

As your bright and tiny spark
Lights the traveler in the dark,
Though I know not what you are,
Twinkle, twinkle, little star.

Source: The Golden Book of Poetry (1947)

Finally, just to make it somewhat bass-related, here’s the notation (and tablature) for the song, from Free Sheet Music Scores blog:

Free bass guitar tab sheet music, Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star

[edit] As pointed out in the comments below, I typed “Happy Birthday” instead of “Baa Baa Black Sheep”. Thanks for the catch, Mike Overly!

[edit 2] Another WordPress blogger also wrote about Twinkle. Her post can be found here: Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star

5 responses

  1. Hello Vishalicious,

    I’m happy to know that you have rediscovered Twinkle, however, it doesn’t have the same melody as Happy Birthday, perhaps you meant to write Baa Baa Black Sheep. Yes, the English lyrics are from the poem “The Star” by Jane Taylor published in 1806, but the melody is from an earlier French song “Ah! vous dirais-je, Maman” published in 1761. Mozart published a set of 12 Variations on this theme in 1785. Enjoy! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7YQySEoy7yQ

    Shining Bright,
    Mike

    May 2, 2014 at 1:07 pm

    • vishalicious

      You’re right! My wife was messaging me about our daughter’s upcoming 2nd birthday, and naturally, my inability to multitask made my fingers walk down the wrong path. I’ll edit the post. Thanks!

      May 2, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    • vishalicious

      Also – I’ve actually heard those 12 variations before – I never realized what they were though. Now that I know the melody, I can hear it in most of what Sophia plays (that’s my daughter’s middle name too).

      May 2, 2014 at 2:15 pm

  2. Pingback: Coursera – FoMT Week 1 / Video 3 | Ugly Bass Face

  3. Pingback: Coursera – FoMT Week 1 / Video 4 | Ugly Bass Face

Leave a comment