A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Practice: 01/25/17 – HLBM 49-56 @ 80bpm

Running exercises at 80 bpm is working pretty well. I’ve just about caught back up to where I was before the stomach bug benched me. Today, I worked on ex. 49-56 in the HLBM. I’ve mainly been focusing on a few bars in ex. 56, because I’m making mistakes when switching between strings in 2 sections (bars 7-8 and 11-13). The next one, ex. 57 (F/X), is what I was up to previously, so I’m right on schedule to tackle it again. I plan on recording practice videos of older exercises, because I haven’t done that for most of the ones in the book yet. It helps me to track the progress I’ve made, and it also seems to be helpful to other people who are working through the book as well.

hlbm56-all-four-one

I’ve found that the exercises that incorporate multiple strings are good reading practice. There are a few that I’ve gone back to expressly for that purpose – ex. 46 (Crossin’ Three), 51 (Gee Whiz), 52 (All Right) and 56 (All Four One) are as much a mental workout as a dexterity one, at my level. I imagine upcoming exercises are only going to build on this. The ones with position changes and string crossing – and the ones that incorporate both at the same time, like going from 1st position on a string to 2nd position on a different string – are particularly challenging. Hopefully, in a few months, I’ll be able to play through these with far less effort, and with greater speed and precision. We’ll see.

The GHS Pressurewound strings are breaking in. They’re a lot easier on my fingertips, so I’ve been enjoying practice more.  I haven’t had to use the Gorilla Tips at all. Regarding technique, I need to work on my pinky finger. It stands upright, like Dr. Evil drinking tea, when its not holding down a fret. I’ve watched some videos about correcting this, and what it seems to come down to is slow, deliberate practice and attention, so I’ll have to start incorporating exercises for this into daily practice.

Finally, I made a Google doc that lists all of the videos I’ve done for the HLBM, with links. Its sparse at the moment, which is what made me really see just how many videos I haven’t made yet. That’s something else I’ll work on during regular review.

One response

  1. Pingback: Hal Leonard Bass Method (Ed Friedland) index | Ugly Bass Face

Leave a Reply

