A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Practice: 01/12/17 – HLBM 57 @ 72bpm [vid]

Practice has been slow for the past few days. I only got in about 20 mins per day for the last 2 days, until now. I’ve been working on ex. 57 (F/X) in the HLBM and its been going slow. This AM, I ran it at 40 bpm, which is the slowest the metronome goes. I made it a point to say the note names aloud as I played them. I just got in a quick PM session, which I’ve been unable to do recently, and for some reason decided to just start at 72 bpm. As strange as it seems, I was able to handle it, so I did a quick recording for my YouTube hall of shame.

This practice video was recorded with the Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 and Audacity. I was going to do it in Reaper, but I think I need to tinker with it a little first – it has exclusive control of the sound system when its in use, and because of that, I can’t use the online metronome that I’ve been using with it.

Hal Leonard Bass Method ex. 57 “F/X” @ 72bpm

Also, I got the 4-string Ibanez back from Sam Ash yesterday. The electronics work now, and it only cost $30. However, the tech was probably right – I think it does need a setup. The tuning peg on the A-string that I installed and he looked at seems to work fine, but that string sounds more “tinny” than the others. I don’t like it like that. I need to learn if tuning pegs have that effect and if I need to find something that matches the others more closely, or if there’s something else that needs to be done. I left the acoustic with them. I asked them to file the frets, because they’re overhanging a little and scraping lines into my palm whenever I touch anywhere on the neck. I also asked if they can install another strap button, somewhere close to where the neck meets the body. Both can be done, so hopefully, I’ll have a more playable acoustic bass returned in a few days.

Finally… Bopps caught a stomach bug. She threw up 3 times. We’re not sending her to school tomorrow, and Monday is Martin Luther King Jr. Day, so she’s getting a 4-day weekend.

2 responses

  1. Check reaper for a metronome of click track built in. It should definitely have one. I would be surprised if it doesn’t have both options. Most of the DAWs I looked at do.

    January 13, 2017 at 12:33 pm

    • vishalicious

      Reaper does have a metronome. I actually forgot about this and haven’t tried it yet. 😉 It was in one of the videos I watched and it didn’t occur to me to enable it – I’m so used to the one I’ve been using these past few months. Thanks!

      The Gorilla Tips just came in about 15 mins ago. I tested them out and it looks like they’ll work well on just one finger. I’ll post about it later.

      January 13, 2017 at 12:40 pm

Leave a Reply

