A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Happy Holidays!

Happy Holidays, low-enders! I hope all of you are having a fantastic weekend and getting some bass-love in. We spent Christmas Eve at my sister-in-law’s place, where Bopps proved to be an unexpected master of Jenga against cousins who are 11 and 14 years her senior. Not bad for a kid who’s only 3 months into pre-k! 😉

Its the wee hours again – its about 3:30 in the AM here – and while waiting for Santa to wiggle his rump down the chimney chute, I watched 2 new videos from Adam Neely and an interesting Scott Devine one about pedal tones. Then, I got some actual bass practice in – which I’ll return to once I spew forth this post.

I’m working on ex. 51 from the HLBM. Its called “Gee Whiz” and (surprise) works on notes on the G string, with a few from the D thrown in to make me second-guess my note memory. I’ve been running it without the metronome, which is a first in a few weeks for me, just to get the notes under my fingers. There’s an E lurking in the 6th bar and a D in the 8th bar, which give me pause while running through the notation. It actually forced me to Google up an image with bass clef notes to review, just to be safe.

Here it is for any of you who might be in need. I’ll print it out later and keep it by my desk, like I did for Anthony Wellington‘s crazy diagram of how all the 7 modes of the major scale are actually one single, big mode.

bass-clef-notes

Go, be merry!

Leave a Reply

