A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Noodling (11.03.2016)

I’m trying to practice more regularly. This morning, instead of opening with the Hal Leonard Bass Method, I worked out a rhythm I had in my head earlier today. I was able to do it, although I can’t quite play it to speed. This is what it currently sounds like:

And here’s the tablature for it:

noodle-2016-11-03

I’ve been trying to analyze what I’m doing, from a functional standpoint, and this is what I think, and partly what went through my head when practicing:

  • I’m starting on B and using the minor scale pattern, so its in Bmin.
  • Starts on root and works down from chord tone (5th) to another chord tone (3rd). I know chord tones are considered “strong” and other tones are considered “weak” or passing tones.
  • Next bar starts on 2nd and ascends the same chord tones (3rd to 5th).
  • Starting on the 2 instead of the one makes me think of bars 2, 3 & 4 as having “false” roots, since they start on the 2 instead of the 1. I think I’m just using that idea to center my head because I’m “returning” to the root or false root to begin each bar.
  • Bar 3 is essentially the same as bar 1 – its got a “root” and walks down 3 notes. I wonder if that would work if I used the same kind of pattern starting from higher scale degrees?
  • Bar 4 is the same as bar 2. It kind of returns things to ground level before bar 1 starts again. So its like up/down/up/down, in terms of direction.
  • Bar 4 sounds like it could be a jumping point to another riff/part. I’ll have to experiment with that.
Leave a Reply

