A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Music Notes app for Windows 10

Music Notes app

So yesterday I mentioned a music app I grabbed from the Windows 10 store that helps with learning notes on the musical staff. The app is called Music Notes. Its almost like using flash cards. When you start it up, you choose treble or bass clef, slide the game timer (I kept it at 5 mins) and hit start. It then flashes notes on the staff onscreen and you have to choose the note name by letter. If you get the note right, another appears. If you get it wrong, you can try again until you have the right one. At the end, it lets you know how many notes you correctly named and what your percentage of correct notes over the play time was.

The app isn’t complex, and I actually like running through it 1 or 2 times before moving onto other stuff, especially if I’m reading on my tablet in bed. I think it actually is somewhat helping me to remember notes, but I won’t be able to make a more educated assessment until I’ve used it for a while.

I do wish that there were an option to select from a specific set of notes, so I could synch it to run the notes I’m working on in lessons from the Hal Leonard Bass Method. Also, with the version I have, its all natural notes – no sharps or flats. That’s fine for me for now though, since I’m still wet-behind-the-ears with notation.

Leave a Reply

