A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Archive for August 22, 2016

Updates since July

Minions bass

Its been a long month. Wifey just got back last night from a few days in Texas at a bridal party for one of her best friends (who’s also the godmother to our daughter). Said daughter is going to turn 4 in 6 more days. Next week she starts pre-k, and we’re basically potty-trained. That could be a post in itself, but its for a different blog than this one. Wifey got an email from her graduate advisor for her 2nd master’s. He was really impressed with her paper on women in extreme metal in NY and will send edits to her, which she has to pick up tomorrow – by hand, of course. She’s also starting a new job at Lehman College this week, after about 3 weeks off since leaving her position at Columbia University. And I started advertising my new company, HouseCall, about 3 weeks ago. I’ve gotten 2 calls so far – a home user and a small business – and was able to solve both. I also have a repeat customer with the small business and became an authorized Avira reseller.

I’m trying to figure out advertising. So far, I’m on Craigslist, Google Adwords, Facebook and just signed up with Angie’s List this weekend. Outside of the internet, I’m advertising on the placemats at Coach Diner in White Plains and will be in a church bulletin after finalizing an ad tomorrow. I wanted to be on the placemats at Raceway Diner, which is right up the street from me. I’ve been eating balboas there for about 25 years, but I missed the deadline by a week, and their placemat ads run in 6-month blocks. I’m reserved for the next run though.

Ok. On to bass. I practiced for about 15 mins yesterday before the baby made it impossible. I ran through all of the old exercises on the E string from the Hal Leonard Bass Method after warming up with Lucretia, My Reflection, from Sisters of Mercy. This AM, I ran through those exercises again, only this time with a metronome set to 92 BPM. I’ve found that playing with a metronome is harder, because I’m listening for the click, instead of purely counting internally. I’m up in the air about whether its keeping me honest with regard to my actual time, but it probably is.

(more…)