A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Left-hand exercise and chromatic descending riff

I don’t post for a month and now look – 2 in one day! So, we did some Father’s Day stuff and went to our nephew’s 6th birthday. Bopps had fun – she played with water guns for the first time. On the way home, I found a 4-pack for her for $5 from Walgreen’s. She immediately took it to the shower when we got in.

Anyway – I had a few mins earlier and did a brief recording of that exercise from Nazim Kemal Ure that I mentioned earlier today. I was definitely optimistic when I said I was probably playing it at around 60 BPM. While I can, I wasn’t. I compared it to his actual 60 BPM, and I’m sloppy at that speed. I tried checking against a metronome, and it looks like I’m probably around 40 BPM. Here’s a snippet from one run-through:

 

Also, I don’t know why, but this AM, before we left for the birthday party, I was playing something that descended chromatically from A on the D string, but with stops on the E from the A string in-between. I liked how it sounded, so I managed to remember it when I came back and also recorded it so I can think about descending notes later. Here it is:

 

Its basically [A-A-E-A] [G#-G#-E-G#] [G-G-E-G] [G#-E] with everything on the D string except for the E’s which are on the A string. I’m mostly curious because its neither a major or minor scale pattern, in and of itself, so I’m curious about what my root or key is. That’s something I’ll figure out later though. For now, I’m going to go run that left-hand exercise from up top in different positions on the fretboard and maybe even go up and sleep tonight.

Happy Father’s Day.

[edit 06.20.2016] Here’s one more version of that exercise. Its starting somewhere lower on the neck – the C# on the A string – and sounds each note twice, instead of once. I like how it sounds, doubled up.

Leave a Reply

