A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Father to Son v2

Ok. This is probably wrong too, but I had to give Bathory‘s Father to Son a 2nd try. Its not the whole song, of course, because I simply don’t have the endurance or skill for that yet, but I hope I got some of it right. I tried it in D minor, way up on the 10th fret of the E string. The original sounds meatier, so I’m still doing it wrong, but I don’t know how they did it. I don’t know if anyone in Quorthon’s circle had a 5-string bass or if they used an alternate tuning (I’ve not tried one, myself, yet) or even if it was some kind of electronics thing that moves you down an octave or something.

In any case, its an exercise. Right now, it actually qualifies as a workout, for me. And this is where I used the 2 chromatic notes that I mentioned in my last post. Its in part of the main (faster) riff. If we’re looking at it in scale degrees, its kind of like this:

1-1-2-3, 1-1-2-3, 1-1-2-3, 4#-3
1-1-2-3, 1-1-2-3, 1-1-2-3, 1#-1#

That 4# and 1# are the chromatic (non-scalar) notes. They’re a little dissonant and stand out from the minor scale, which is what’s used in everything else.

Here’s my attempt:

3 responses

  1. BD

    Give this a try for “Father to Son,” in D tuning. It’s very slightly different (the fifth note of the second and fourth measures), but I think it is correct if you listen to the record:

    D 0-0-2-3-2-0-2-3-|0-0-2-3-6–3–|0-0-2-3-2-0-2-3-|0-0-2-3-1–1–|

    May 24, 2016 at 10:27 pm

    • vishalicious

      I’ve actually never used an alternate tuning before – I’ve done all of my practicing in standard! 😉 I’ll give this a try though. Are your notes scale degrees or frets?

      May 25, 2016 at 10:53 am

      • xbdx

        That’s tabbed frets. I think it’s all the same scalar degrees overall as you posted. just in a slightly different order.

        May 25, 2016 at 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

