A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Cool jazz soloing technique – the Cantus Firmus Method

Here’s a new video from the always impressive Adam Neely. This one is basically about counterpoint and not playing root notes when soloing. I happen to love counterpoint (its why the bass playing on Opeth‘s first two albums, Orchid and Morningrise, are some of my favorite pieces… I’m not particularly in love with their more recent offerings). I think I understand the basics of everything he’s talking about, but I’m absolutely not ready for 9ths, 11ths and 13ths and the like. It also dovetails nicely into the stuff I read last week in Target and Approach Tone s- Shaping Bebop Lines.

Anyway, watch the video. Adam is gold.

Cool jazz soloing technique – the Cantus Firmus Method

Also – I saw someone in the Youtube comments say that the “out there” parts that Adam was playing was basically the entire Spheres album from Pestilence… I have to basically agree. 😉

For those of you who follow metal bassists, Opeth’s early basswork was done by Johan De Farfalla. Pestilence sported the amazing Jeroen Paul Thesseling. Both are Swedish…

Leave a Reply

