A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Practice: 11/19/15 – HLBM 37

I should be sleeping… its 3 AM. I made the mistake of picking up my bass after blogging about JamKazam and wikiloops and ended up running through that blues exercise in the HLBM again. Afterward, I had to go to the next one, because I remember from before that I liked the 2nd blues exercise more – and I still do.

Here’s a quick recording of ex. 37 “A Little Heavy“. Its a 12-bar blues but there are chord changes in the 2nd and 12th bars (to B and C#, respectively). It has less notes than the previous 12-bar blues exercise, but I like the flow of it more. I think the use of space makes the notes we do play stand out more strongly.

[edit] Here’s the original post I wrote about this exercise:

3 responses

  1. Pingback: HLBM 34: A Little Heavy | Ugly Bass Face

  2. The best things in life happen at 3 in the morning. 🙂

    November 19, 2015 at 10:15 pm

  3. Pingback: Hal Leonard Bass Method (Ed Friedland) index | Ugly Bass Face

Leave a Reply

