A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

HLBM (1-9) Open String Exercises recordings

We had a busy day yesterday. We took the baby to her cousin’s 1-year birthday. She had a blast there, playing with her cousins and a few other kids – but not eating, of course. From there, we grabbed a friend and headed to her niece’s place for a combination Halloween/Christmas thing, which was basically food and socializing. Bopps was the only kid at the party, aside from a 16-year old who surprised me by revealing how much he’s watched the old G1 Transformers animated movie from back when I was a kid. His father was there and shared that he’d raised him right. I agreed. 😉

So, anyway, after getting home a bit late, we finally got the baby to eat, have a bottle and get to bed. I ended up waking at 3 or 4 this AM and couldn’t go back to sleep, so I headed downstairs for some bass time. I decided to record some of my practice from the Hal Leonard book tonight, so here are the first 34 exercises. I’ll separate them over 5 posts, so they’re grouped by lesson.

I looked at the time after I’d dropped them all in a folder together – its about 10 mins in total, at whatever tempo I’m playing at (I count in my head, but don’t know the actual BPM).

The following posts reference the exercises recorded here:

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Hal Leonard Bass Method (Ed Friedland) index | Ugly Bass Face

  2. Pingback: HLBM 01: Open String Exercises | Ugly Bass Face

  3. Pingback: HLBM 02: Open String Exercises | Ugly Bass Face

  4. Pingback: HLBM 03: Open String Exercises | Ugly Bass Face

Leave a Reply

