A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Adding some recordings

So, now that I have a way to record & share my feeble attempts to manipulate the bottom register of our audio spectrum, I’ve started to do just that. Here are some older posts that I added sound clips to. Since I’m rusty, they’re probably representative of a stage that other beginners can relate to.

Bass_Guitar_Hero_by_Karate_ChopI’ve noticed that some of these old exercises are difficult for me now. When I first started, I was looking at technique a lot and then theory – mostly via learning about scales and chords. Later on, after I’d been away for a while, I came back determined to work through the Hal Leonard book. It teaches a lot of things through reading notation.

I’ve come to realize that crossing strings, moving to a fret that’s in an awkward position, “rolling fingers” and string shifting with specific fingers are all technique-builders. They’re just different techniques than what I’d been practicing on my own – and which I’ve apparently lost the ability to perform.

[edit] I keep listening to that bass & drum only version of Mother Man from Atheist. Someday…

4 responses

  1. Hey man! Nice to see someone else here learning how to rumble the low end!

    November 13, 2015 at 10:57 am

    • vishalicious

      Thanks! Its hard for me to find time, as of late, but I’m trying. I started much later than you though. I’m 40 now, and balancing work, a baby and bass is a tightrope walk. Sometimes, my wife pulls on the rope too.

      November 13, 2015 at 11:06 am

      • Ah I see, yeah I can imagine that makes you a busy man!

        November 13, 2015 at 11:07 am

      • vishalicious

        Only as long as I want to stay married and employed! 😉

        November 13, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Leave a Reply

