A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Practice: 11/9/15 – E & A strings

I got started late with practice tonight. I had a conference call in the morning, did some work in the afternoon, then we took the baby out for a while and finally grabbed a bite and headed back in. At that point, I was with wifey & the baby for a while until The Walking Dead came on. I’ve only seen season 1, but wifey’s current, so the baby and I spent some quality time playing hide & seek and climbing stuff to escape an imaginary flood and fishes. At some point, she was a mermaid and also a crab, which came after me with pinches.

So, after food, a bottle and bed for her, I finally got on to my bass. I ran through the same stuff as yesterday, starting from the beginning of the book and working through the natural notes on the E string, the sharps & flats and then the natural notes on the A string.

My hands were a bit tired at that point and I made a deadly mistake. I looked at Facebook. I got sucked into reading stuff and looking at some info on Robert Howard that complimented something else I had been commenting on concerning H.P. Lovecraft. I didn’t realize how much time had passed, but I picked back up and practiced a little more, working on the sharps & flats on the A string.

I’m glad to see that I’m definitely catching back up quickly. I thought I’d make it back to where I was before by the end of the month, but its going to be much sooner than that, with even a single hour of daily practice. That’s interesting to me because it means that I’ve somehow retained some of what I learned before, and that once I catch back up, I’ll likely return to progressing at a snail’s pace.

There are actually a few exercises that trip me up a little bit, but repeated attempts clear that up. I should probably work with a metronome and actually run through the exercises at faster tempos, but for the time being, I’ve been resisting that and focusing on reading and accuracy over speed. I’m going to need to make myself do that soon though.

For now though, I’m going to head upstairs and occupy my head with some reading, and if I’m lucky, pass out.

3 responses

  1. Shelby Stronger

    There’s something to be said for muscle memory, for sure. I go through something similar every time I pick up my bass or guitar after a long run of nothing but uke where I prep myself for a mess and end up with ‘actually, that wasn’t great, but way better than I was expecting.’

    November 10, 2015 at 9:14 am

    • vishalicious

      I like that my actual memory of what a piece should sound like also remains. Its actually a quicker test for me, because when I hear the wrong notes being sounded from an older exercise, I know right away.

      At some point, I’ll know those notes by name, I hope, and maybe even begin to know the intervals between them.

      November 10, 2015 at 10:30 am

  2. Pingback: Hal Leonard Bass Method (Ed Friedland) index | Ugly Bass Face

Leave a Reply

