A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Prescriptivism and Descriptivism in Music Theory (and why you should learn it)

Adam Neely is back. When I picked back up my bass a few years ago with the intent of actually learning how to play it, his videos on right and left hand technique really blew me away. His manner of speaking and his thought processes are so clear to me. I’ve missed his videos.

So, anyway, I just logged into Talkbass and found the following one, with accompanying thread. Haven’t been there in months as well. So much to catch up on. This is about learning music theory. Its not stuffy and its a fun 6 1/2 minutes.

Why you should learn music theory (Prescriptivism vs Descriptivism)

Here’s the thread:

Its funny too – I’ve spoken with my wife for years about recent metal studies, and how punk became a thing to study since maybe 2 decades ago and how they’re being approached like how jazz was. Adam concurs and explains how music academia is generally years behind what’s going on with actual music when it comes to study.

Leave a Reply

