A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Coursera – FoMT Week 1 / Video 2 extra: Ledger lines

There were a few concepts introduced in the 2nd video for Week 1 of Fundamentals of Music Theory that I wanted to expand on a little, for the sake of beginners who hear these words and don’t know what they mean. Some came from the video, and others from my own rambling about the video. As this is a bass-centric site, some of this information might be bass-specific.

Ledger Lines

The Dummies book doesn’t mention ledger lines at all, although it says that musical staves are made up of lines and spaces when it talks about the bass and treble clefs.

The Idiot’s Guide does have a definition. It says that “The lines you add above or below a staff are called ledger lines.” This is interesting to me because I thought ALL of the lines on the musical staff were called ledger lines, but apparently, its just the ones above and below the regular ones that are added in to denote tones past what can be written on the regular lines & spaces.

1-2 ledger lines

6 responses

  1. Shelby Stronger

    I thought the ledger lines lesson was going to make me blind. Lol.

    I love your graphic, though, it’s a clear view of just how they count up and down. I missed it somehow when I was doing the lesson, and kept ending up a note off in my guesses.

    September 9, 2015 at 3:16 pm

    • vishalicious

      I’m glad it helped. It took me 2 days to write that all, with Bopps sitting between me and the keyboard and helping me turn pages in the books. 😉

      I was really worried about the potty training too. I thought she’d drop a nice load on my desk or lap for sure, but she’s probably saving that for next time.

      September 9, 2015 at 3:43 pm

      • Shelby Stronger

        I’ll have to come back to that image and study it, but the letters above gives a nice crutch. My eyes were bugging out during the lesson.

        September 9, 2015 at 3:47 pm

      • vishalicious

        I think you’re actually ahead of me with that. All of this was just stuff from the 2nd video for lesson 1. 😉 I still have to write up the rest of lesson 1 before I look at lesson 2. 😉

        September 9, 2015 at 3:58 pm

      • Shelby Stronger

        Ahead of you only in terms of watching the videos, not necessarily in terms of comprehending all the material. I’m basically just blowing through it all, absorbing what I can and not worrying about the rest of it. You watch more attentively than I do, so it depends on how you measure progress. I’ve watched the first 3 lectures, but I’m in no way able to discuss them in anything resembling a competent manner. When it comes to understanding the lessons, you’re definitely ahead of me in that respect.

        September 9, 2015 at 7:39 pm

  2. Pingback: Coursera – Fundamentals of Music Theory Week 1 | Ugly Bass Face

Leave a Reply

