A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Shane Embury’s Record Box

Wifey sent this to me this morning. Shane Embury is the bassist for Napalm Death and Lock Up. I love him. He’s not the most complex player, but when it comes to grindcore, he has such groove. 😉

Here’s a great video with Lock Up that I posted a few months ago. I still watch this every few days. Its really fun to me:

Anyway, I’ll let the page description speak for itself about what this link is:

In the fourth of our series of Record Boxes commissioned by The Space, Shane Embury from Napalm Death explains how grindcore came into being, exploring the elements of its genetic make up with records from John’s own collection.

Shane Embury explores John Peel’s records

Shane Embury Record Box

He mentions a lot of cool bands in his trip down memory lane, and I found one that I wasn’t familiar with: Slab!. As a big fan of Justin Broadrick and Godflesh, I found myself really digging their sound. They seem like the prototype for Head of David, Fall of Because and for Godflesh.

The page also includes details about the bands and albums that Shane speaks about in his talk. I love it. 😉

8 responses

  1. This sounds really interesting. Thanks for the links! Also… I just bought my first bass so I’m looking forward to more posts about your learning experiences.

    July 2, 2015 at 2:32 pm

    • vishalicious

      I’ll definitely be writing them, and hopefully actually learning as I do it.

      It would be great if you blogged some of your experiences as you learn as well – the world needs more bass blogs! Even if you do it in a separate blog, I’d follow it. 😉

      July 2, 2015 at 3:37 pm

      • That’s a cool idea but I struggle with the time for my one blog!

        How long have you been playing bass now? Did you play any other instruments before it?

        July 4, 2015 at 9:48 am

      • vishalicious

        I’ve been learning for about as long as I had the blog, which is a little over 3 years, but there have been extended periods where I couldn’t pick up my bass. so its probably closer to 1.5 years of actual practice.

        I’ve read bass and music-theory related stuff for longer though. I actually bought my bass back around 1996, but it sat at my parents’ house for around 15 years until my wife and I came back to downstate NY and took over the house.

        I never really played anything before it. In 4th grade, I took drum lessons at a school program once a week for about a year, but I can barely remember any of that. that was about 34 years ago. 😉

        I also have 2 other blogs, but they don’t get updated frequently. If you do blog about bass, you don’t need to do it like a job. But I’ve found that its nice to be able to go back to what I was learning and see how I’ve progressed – plus, as a beginner, I like being able to reach out to other beginners so that we can all stumble together. 😉 Its somewhat reassuring to learn with others. You could always make it a section of your current blog. Like a once a week, or even once a month thing.

        July 6, 2015 at 8:43 am

      • That’s great. I’ve been playing guitar most my life so I feel like I’ve got a bit of an advantage picking up the bass now. But, at the same time, it’s a very different instrument even if the notes are the same. And I’m determined to play with my fingers rather than a pick which is proving challenging!

        Best of luck with it. I look forward to more of your posts and I’ll have a wee think about adding some bass-related stuff to my blog. Cheers!

        July 8, 2015 at 8:57 am

      • vishalicious

        There are a lot of great bassists who came from guitar, but there are also bass players who come from guitar and play it as if it were a guitar. They definitely play two different roles, and as you said are very different instruments. I think that just by recognizing that, you’ve put yourself in the right mindset to play it as a bass, rather than a simplified guitar. 😉

        You’ll also probably ramp up really quickly, since you’re used to guitar. Do you know much music theory?

        July 28, 2015 at 10:56 am

      • I hope so! It’s definitely an advantage already knowing the notes on the neck and I’m have a decent knowledge of theory: chords, harmony and scales. And even just having the co-ordination and finger strength is an advantage. But understanding its role is going to take time. And using my R/H fingers instead of a pick! I imagine a lot of guitarists just use a pick for ease but I want to be able to do both and be a proper rounded-out player. Using a pick is fine but I want to be able to use my fingers if necessary. And that’s been tricky but, even a few weeks in, it’s already getting better. I’m having great fun with it. I was started to hit a bit of a rut with the guitar and this has perked me back up.

        July 28, 2015 at 2:18 pm

      • vishalicious

        I’ve had my bass since around 1996, but I really only started learning how to play about 4 years ago, on and off. It sat at my parents’ house for like 15 years until I came back and picked it up.

        I think that in total, I have about a years’ experience though. I was most consistent in 2011, and then in the early part of this year, but work and the baby really dominate my time, especially recently.

        I didn’t really play anything before this. I took a 1X/week drum class when I was in 4th grade, but it was really long ago and didn’t go anywhere, and only lasted about 9 months before our school district stopped it.

        July 28, 2015 at 10:51 am

Leave a Reply

