A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

HLBM 39: Notes on the D-String & Minor League

So I couldn’t sleep again, and I wasn’t able to practice with my guitarist friend, Ray, this week because it just got too busy. I ended up hitting the diner with him around 1 AM because he was up and answered my text. We were there longer than I anticipated (it was ridiculously packed – I think its graduation week for high schoolers). There were maybe 5 empty booths. Anyway, we ate, shot the breeze, and determined to get together later in the week. He doesn’t have his guitar right now. Its on loan to a friend, so I’ll bring him the righty-bass that’s been hiding in my living room for a few years and let him play with it. He had previously been writing some basslines with his guitar, so this should be a little more appropriate. It’ll drastically alter what we practice when I see him though.

When I got home I put in some practice from the Hal Leonard book. I went through the blues, to warm up, and then moved onto the D-string exercises (#38-39) and first 2 song snippets (#40 – Private Eye, #41 Minor League). 38 & 39 didn’t give me any problems. I took a run or two to get the timing right with 40, and 41 wasn’t so bad. I’m starting to get through that problem where I was calling the D-E-F notes on the D string E-F-G. It didn’t happen even once tonight. I’ll see if that continues with other exercises.

So far, so good. I hope I can get in from work tomorrow early enough to put in some more time with this. The baby also took a lot of our time on Friday and today. We took her to a new park. She loves it. She was on a big spiral slide for almost a 1/2 hour. Today, she spent the afternoon with me, my sister & a friend in the backyard… with a bucket of colored chalk. Everyone had to have baths by evening. I’ve started putting aside money to get her a drum kit at the end of August. Its got my interest piqued as well.

Anyhow. Here’s a pic of her from the park, and one of me, but bassed-up thanks to the miracle of modern technology.

Wow. I really bring the ugly.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Hal Leonard Bass Method (Ed Friedland) index | Ugly Bass Face

  2. Love your photos. That is an interesting bass you’ve got there.

    May 31, 2015 at 6:42 pm

    • vishalicious

      It’s the magic of a really old version of Photoshop and a day at the playground with the baby. 😉

      May 31, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Leave a Reply

