A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

HLBM 14: More Notes on the E-String

Those shifting exercises are really giving me a hard time right now. I had them down pretty well earlier tonight, but my playing is getting sloppier and sloppier, so I’m going to chalk this one up to the Tylenol PM that I popped about an hour ago. I can feel it finally doing its thing. It makes me think of this old Lovecraft story where the writer kept typing in a letter to some reader, even as something or someone was coming up the stairs of an old tower for him, and by the end, he wasn’t only screaming for life, but he typed out the screams to his readers. I didn’t think it at first, but when I re-read the story years later, it struck me how funny that scene actually was.

Ok. I’m babbling. I wanted to talk about the exercises and how its easier to complete them using one-finger-per-fret instead of 1-2-4 and shifting, but that will have to wait until morning. Good night.

[edit 11.15.15] Here’s a recording of the More Notes on the E-String exercises:

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Hal Leonard Bass Method (Ed Friedland) index | Ugly Bass Face

  2. Pingback: HLBM (18-23) More Notes on the E-String recordings | Ugly Bass Face

Leave a Reply

