A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

HLBM 12: More Notes on the E-String

Yep. Its 4:15 AM. Didn’t fall asleep yet. Again. Anyhow, I worked out of the Hal Leonard Bass Method more. I ran the Notes on the E String stuff and only had a problem with the ending of Exercise 15. Then, I went over to More Notes on the E String and got through 18 and 19 with no problems. 20 is still tricky to read. Some of it is also because there are both sharps and flats in the exercise. Its my understanding that in actual music (not exercises) this doesn’t happen. Its either all sharps or all flats. I could be wrong about this, but I’m fairly certain that I read it somewhere. But, yeah, it slows me down and throws me for a bit because I’m thinking in sharps, or thinking in flats, but not in both.

I decided to push past it though, since I’ll be repeating it again today for certain, and likely more tomorrow and maybe the rest of the week. The second 1/2 of the page introduces shifting. Its accompanied by 3 exercises that have us shift on a different finger. The first (ex. 21) shifts on the index, the 2nd (ex. 22) shifts on the middle and the 3rd (ex. 23) on the pinky. I found the index one manageable after running it a few times. Again, its not the shifting that’s the problem. Its having both sharps and flats in the same exercise. It really makes me pause.

Snippet from More Notes on the E String (pg. 17)

Snippet from More Notes on the E String (pg. 17)

The one that shifts on the middle finger was the hardest for me, for some reason. I think its probably because of how I envision shifting. I really think about it as extending range, so I see it as taking an extremity (either the first or 4th finger, since they’re at the ends) and reaching out with them. I know this isn’t the case, because guitarists tend to hold their hands in different shapes and move them around to hold down moveable chord fingerings, but I’ve never done that as a bassist. I tend to think in terms of a root note and then place a finger (generally index or middle) on it and then use the others to reach for other notes in a scale or chord. So, that one’s going to require some more work.

Snippet from More Notes on the E String (pg. 17)

Snippet from More Notes on the E String (pg. 17)

The pinky finger one wasn’t so bad either. It falls into how I think of shifting, so it was cake, especially compared to the middle finger.

Also, I noticed when running the first one (ex. 21) that I kept naturally falling into one-finger-per-fret, which isn’t used in this book. I think its introduced in book 2. This one uses 1-2-4, or Simandl. I’m going to try to make myself do the 1-2-4, but I think ultimately, I use OFPF so much that its just more automatic, although I do shift and use other fingers that are more comfortable when I’m not doing exercises from the book.

Snippet from More Notes on the E String (pg. 17)

Snippet from More Notes on the E String (pg. 17)

Ok. Lets wrap-up and see if Dream comes for me soon. I don’t think its gonna happen.

[edit 11.15.15] Here’s a recording of the More Notes on the E-String exercises:

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Hal Leonard Bass Method (Ed Friedland) index | Ugly Bass Face

  2. Pingback: Catching back up | Ugly Bass Face

  3. Pingback: HLBM (18-23) More Notes on the E-String recordings | Ugly Bass Face

  4. Pingback: HLBM 44: More Notes on the D-String | Ugly Bass Face

  5. Pingback: Practice 8/23/16 – HLBM | Ugly Bass Face

Leave a Reply

