A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

HLBM 09: Notes on the E-String – Little Rock

Ok. Its about 2 AM. I need to get to sleep, but I’m awake from being passed out most of the day on account of these allergies. I got in some practice time earlier tonight and am happy to say that Exercise 16 from the Hal Leonard Bass Method is done. I actually didn’t have any problems with it at all. I got it right the first time and it stayed right every time I did it.

The exercise is a short 8-bar piece. Its the first one that spans more than one “line” of music, so when reading, we have to finish the first part and scan ahead to the beginning of the 2nd to keep things moving. I was able to do it, since Ed Friedland kept it simple.

Also, I found this interesting – its easier to play along with the CD track than without. I did it without the track most of the time, and then for the last 5 or 6 runs, I tried it with the CD. It made it easier to play, hearing everything else going in time, and again, with this being a relatively simple exercise. So, yay!

I find myself wondering about theory though – what scale does this fall under? Since, its just the E, F and G notes, it might not fall under anything at all, or it might be Phrygian or Locrian – both of those are minor scales with a flat 2nd, which would cover all three notes that I’ve been playing. Maybe I’ll ask on the Talkbass forums.

[edit 11.15.15] Here’s a recording of the Notes on the E-String exercises:

[edit 01.27.17] I’ve been recording video playthroughs of exercises from the book. Here’s exercise 16:

Hal Leonard Bass Method ex. 16 “Little Rock” @ 80bpm

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Hal Leonard Bass Method (Ed Friedland) index | Ugly Bass Face

  2. Pingback: HLBM (10-17) Notes on the E-String recordings | Ugly Bass Face

  3. Pingback: Hal Leonard Bass Method ex. 10-17 vids | Ugly Bass Face

Leave a Reply

