A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

HLBM 08: Notes on the E-String – Little Rock

Allergies are kicking my butt. I ran through Exercises 10-15 in Notes on the E string again, in the Hal Leonard Bass Method. I’m able to play them all now, even though I didn’t get too much practice in recently. After a few mins, I had to take a break though. I just don’t have the energy between the lethargy from the allergies and this headache from the meds.

I tried out Exercise 16 though. Its a short bassline for a song snipped called Little Rock. Its 8 measures long, so that means that its 2 lines. I made it through and got all of the notes right, but I definitely slow down when I get to the end of line 1 and have to start reading line 2. I’m sure that’ll get better with repetition, and as I begin to get comfortable with the notes and “chunk” them into short-term memory.

I played the track on the CD for the exercise afterward and was happy to hear that it sounded like what I played. The notes were the same and the note durations were the same as well, so I’m definitely holding quarter, half and whole notes for the proper lengths and counting accurately. Thank goodness for small victories.

Once these allergies pass, I’m going to hit this much harder. I feel like I wasted a day. I rarely have a free Sunday. I’m always working, and the one time that I do, I spend the day sleeping. Its nice to get some rest, but I don’t think I accomplished much. Bleh.

Also, I noticed something interesting. The text for the exercise said:

This next example is 8 measures long. When you reach the end of the first line, continue on to the second line without a pause. The count-off for the track in two measures long: “1…2…1, 2, 3, 4”

So, those times that I’ve heard drummers say, “One, two, one-two-three-four,” it wasn’t just to sound cool. I think that they’re counting off the tempo of the notes in a measure, but I never realized that the initial 1-2 says how many lines a part is. I have to look into that more later though. I could be misunderstanding it, and the focus right now is proper note and duration.

Here’s how I did the first time I tried this, back in 2011:

And here are the other posts about the book:

[edit 11.15.15] Here’s a recording of the Notes on the E-String exercises:

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Hal Leonard Bass Method (Ed Friedland) index | Ugly Bass Face

  2. Pingback: HLBM (10-17) Notes on the E-String recordings | Ugly Bass Face

Leave a Reply

