A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Amazing Bass! – Wherever I Lay My Hat.

Here’s a reblog from mikeytbull. “Wherever I Lay My Hat (That’s My Home)” was originally written by Marvin Gaye in 1962. Paul Young recorded his cover of the song in 1983. The now-legendary Pino Palladino played fretless bass on it. Pino talks a little about it here:

Wherever I Lay My Hat (That’s My Home)

mikeytbull

This time I’m looking at Paul Young’s Wherever I Lay My Hat.

Originally by Marvin Gaye, Paul Young made this song one of the most iconic sounds of the earlier 80’s.

images-28

Paul Young

What made it very special was a young session bass player by the name of Pino Palladino. He turned up to the session to lay down what he thought was a bass line, probably destined to be trashed and replaced by another bass player’s line.  Little did he know at the time that it would indeed be ‘the’ bass track to define the song, Paul Young’s sound and more importantly for Pino, the very launch pad for being probably one of the world’s most sought after session bass palyers.

images-14

Pino Palladino

His sound was slightly unconventional at the time, as he favoured the fretless bass which has a very distinctive sound.  In fact Pino made it more distinctive…

View original post 93 more words

Leave a Reply

