A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Coursera – DYM Lesson 1 videos (10)

The last video for Lesson 1 of Coursera’s Developing Your Musicianship class is a song from students at Berklee. On Youtube its described like this, “Ben Johnston and Jordan Lucero’s song ‘I Don’t Have a Song for That’ was inspired by the events of the Boston Marathon bombings on April 15, 2013. Performed in the Berklee Performance Center. Lead vocal Mark Joseph. Arranged by Evan Chapman. Musical Director Caitlin Banks.”

10. Berklee Student Performance: Boston Marathon, I Don’t Have a Song for That (5:41)

Have a listen:

Boston Marathon, “I Don’t Have a Song for That”

I’m sure that, compositionally and even musically, its a great piece of music, and all of the commenters on Youtube love it. Its just not my cup of tea though. I think its just that my musical tastes run more in the direction of extreme metal, jazz fusion and things like noise or experimental industrial sounds. My ear is drawn to guttural vocals and I look for interplay or alternations of heavy and frenetic riffs with more somber or dramatically quiet parts. I don’t want to be negative about the song, because it was obviously a moving work to the people who composed it, but I’m usually bored by this type of sound.

One response

  1. Pingback: Coursera – Developing Your Musicianship Lesson 1 | Ugly Bass Face

Leave a Reply

