A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Memorizing notes on the E & A-strings using the Cycle of Fourths

Its coming together. I didn’t practice with the metronome so far for today, but I ran the Cycle of Fourths on the A string for a while. I then went back and did it on the E string, and I thought, what the hell, let me see if my pea brain’s been cooking any of this stuff under the skin. So, I did the Cycle on the E and immediately continued on the A string.

It was flawless. 😉

I then tried it again, and this time, when I finished with G on the A string, I continued with C on the E string, and kept doing that in a loop. This means that, right now, as long as I’m in sequence, I can find 24 notes on the first two strings! Who says you can’t teach an old dog new tricks?

This is what it looks like, together:

So, what you want to do, if you want to practice this is, play the Cycle on the E string, starting on C and ending on G. Once you finish (you’ll be on the 3rd fret of the E string) immediately move up a string to the 3rd fret of the A string and start the next Cycle on that C. When you end, you’ll be on G on the A string (10th fret). You can then slide back two frets and down to the E string and continue again.

Here’s an observation from this:

  • The bass is tuned in 4ths
  • We’re practicing playing 4ths (hence, the name Cycle of Fourths)
  • Moving from G on the 3rd fret of the E string to C on the 3rd fret of the A string is a 4th
  • Every time you move up a string but stay on the same fret, you’re moving up a 4th.
One response

  1. Reblogged this on I Write The Music.

    January 29, 2015 at 3:58 am

Leave a Reply

