A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Memorizing notes on the E-string using the Cycle of Fourths 5

I’m off to work, but before I go, I have to say – the metronome is kicking my ass. On 40 bps, I can play the Cycle from C to C on the E string without too much trouble, but once I up the ante and try to play each note and follow with the 5th, then I make mistakes. I keep ending up a fret behind, or go too slowly and I’m behind the click.

Hopefully, it gets better. I really never made playing to a metronome part of my regular practice, but I see how its useful for repetitive runs like this as a way to gauge progress – and more importantly, to force you to think ahead and anticipate the next note quickly.

Ok. I’ll resume tonight after work, if the baby gives me a few minutes.

[edit] So, I came In from work earlier today and finally got to practice for a bit for the last 1/2 hour. Running the Cycle on the E string with a metronome isn’t so bad, but adding in the 5th after each note is more difficult. I found that if I stay on the C and just repeat C – G a few times (C on the 8th fret of the E string and G on the 10th fret of the A string) to the metronome, it helps me to establish a rhythm/pace that I can move around the fretboard more easily. Its kind of like warming up, I think. When starting by doing that, I was able to run the Cycle & 5th more easily and consistently. Practicing it up on the F also helps a bit (F on the 1st fret of the E string and C on the 3rd fret of the A string) because I’m not in the lower register as much anymore, so it makes me stretch/move a little more. It looks like my comfort zone is usually around the 7th-9th positions for some reason.

Leave a Reply

