A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Kilian Duarte – Bass Picking Techniques (#3)

Another bass technique video from Kilian Duarte. His video description for this one is, “Beginner pick style playing lesson for intermediate/advanced finger style bass players.” It basically centers on 3 exercises for playing with a pick. I’ve never played with a pick before – I’m one of those people who view it as guitaristic. I know its a valid technique though, and I’ve been listening to David Ellefson (among others) for about 20 years now. I think I just like the sound of fingers more than the brighter, more clipped sound of a pick. Have a look though:

Kilian Duarte – Bass Picking Techniques

6 responses

  1. Piera Fraser Pincock

    Interesting video. I’ve always hated playing with a pick–I agree with you that playing with fingers just has more of the sound that I want. I really do need to learn this skill, though, because it’s definitely valuable for certain styles.

    January 21, 2015 at 1:37 pm

  2. Piera Fraser Pincock

    Interesting video. I really do need to further develop my pick skills. I agree with you in that the sound of playing with my fingers just has a nicer quality–at least it’s more the sound that I personally prefer. However, picking definitely has its place in certain styles and it should be something I comfortable doing. This video was very helpful.

    January 21, 2015 at 1:41 pm

    • vishalicious

      Thanks! I’m glad you found it helpful. I actually discovered your site via my reader yesterday (using the “bass” tag). Your site led me to your husband’s as well. Both are interesting. I enjoy seeing other bassists’ vantages on just about everything music-related (even the social/psychological aspects of it, not just the theory & technique stuff).

      I hope you find more on here that’s useful. I was just telling my wife about the Road Widows blog you wrote about. Keep writing! 😉

      January 21, 2015 at 2:33 pm

    • vishalicious

      Also – and this is a little random – “peera” is the Indian word for pain. It was my sister’s nickname when she was a teen. I think your name is probably a homonym.

      January 21, 2015 at 2:35 pm

  3. Piera Fraser Pincock

    Thank you!

    Yes, the two are very similar. My name is the feminine version of “Pierre” in French, “Pierro” in Italian, or “Peter” in English. It means “the rock” or “the foundation.”

    Also, I apologize for posting the same comment twice. My phone app was giving me trouble.

    January 21, 2015 at 2:52 pm

    • vishalicious

      Its actually kind of cool that your name means the rock or foundation, and you play bass. Its like it was preordained. 😉

      January 21, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Leave a Reply

