A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Dialing it back for note memorization

I’m biting off more than I can chew. I’m making more mistakes and my mind is fogging up when I try to run scales along the Cycle of Fourths. I realized that by trying to do two different things, I’m not going to accomplish either – so either I’m learning notes on a string OR I’m learning chord or scale fingerings. I can’t do both with the same exercise using the limited brain capacity I have right now.

Maybe that’ll change when the Cycle is second nature. Its getting to be that way now, but I lose accuracy when the metronome is on, so I’m probably just being kind to myself with an illusion of progress that needs to be more evidence-based via mechanical ticking.

So, I’m not going to run scales along the Cycle. Maybe I’ll do a quick pattern on each note in it, or maybe do the note and one additional, like a 3rd or 5th, but anything that takes more than 2 seconds is divvying up my mental resources and working against me.

With the metronome on, I’m not going to be doing anything but finding the right note and moving on to the next one.

Leave a Reply

