A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

What is Music Therapy?

This is a fantastic article. In the past, I’ve mentioned that I design clinical software for nursing homes for a living. One of the departments I work with is Rehab. In the nursing home setting, that’s typically physical therapy, occupational therapy and speech therapy. I’ve never encountered a music therapist before, but I’ve been aware of them for years. I don’t believe any of my clients use them, but I’d love to learn more about the documented benefits of their services and ultimately, if its beneficial enough, I’d love to see their presence spread in the industry.

I’m also thinking about how to incorporate tools for them in our system now… if it gets picked up by the feds or the state in any meaningful manner, I’ve got some ideas.

Music Lessons California

I want to share a little bit about music therapy. I love the idea of using music to help in the healing of any illness. The American Music Therapy Assoc. has a great website for teaching the public more about this fascinating field of medicine.

American Music Therapy Assoc. American Music Therapy Assoc.

What is Music Therapy?

Music Therapy is the clinical and evidence-based use of music interventions to accomplish individualized goals within a therapeutic relationship by a credentialed professional who has completed an approved music therapy program.

Music Therapy is an established health profession in which music is used within a therapeutic relationship to address physical, emotional, cognitive, and social needs of individuals. After assessing the strengths and needs of each client, the qualified music therapist provides the indicated treatment including creating, singing, moving to, and/or listening to music. Through musical involvement in the therapeutic context, clients’ abilities are strengthened and transferred to…

View original post 492 more words

Leave a Reply

