A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Memorizing notes on the E-string using the Cycle of Fourths 2

Its great being a dad. I’m getting the Cycle of Fourths down more the E string. But that’s not why I’m enjoying it. Its because, tonight, while practicing, I’ve been calling out the note names, so that I drill them into memory (its so much easier simply knowing that the majority of it follows BEADG with flats and then BEADG without).

Anyway – I’m in the living room, running through it, and calling out note names, and our nearly 2 1/2 year old daughter keeps turning to me, angrily, and saying in her accusatory tone, “He’s singing ABC’s! He’s singing ABC’s!” Its the same tone she uses when she’s singing a nursery rhyme and I join in when she wants to sing solo, or when I pick one of her favorites and change the words on her. She gets so mad and I can’t stop smirking. Someday, when she’s older, she’s gonna screw with my favorite Carcass lyrics so badly…

Maybe if there’s time tomorrow after work, I’ll see if wifey can video her getting mad at daddy for trying to memorize the Cycle.

20141020_180318

One response

  1. So cute! Snarky too!

    January 11, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Leave a Reply

