A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

To be, or not to be…

So, wifey and I took Ella out to Home Depot for the first time today. While we were there, I ran into an employee who I’ve spoken to a little in the past about books. He’s a voracious reader and when I had more time, I was as well. Wifey still is, but she’s also a librarian, so its not quite fair.

Anyhow, we got to talking about some series that he was reading and I said something to the effect of, “Between the baby, working 6 days a week and practicing bass, I don’t find as much time as I used to for reading.”

Well, apparently, he plays bass too. He’s an upright player with 30 years of experience. He’s mainly a jazzer but also works with chamber music or with orchestras in NYC. Wifey was laughing on the way home because of our budding new bromance, and because just yesterday, I was telling her that I wish I had someone else who played bass nearby that I could turn to when I have questions. I wasn’t entirely happy with the two instructors that I tried in the past.

This might have happened for a reason, but time will tell. He teaches bass, reads music and is versed in theory. I don’t know if his musical tastes run similarly to mine, but that might not necessarily be a bad thing. I’m considering contacting him for lessons. He left me his # and email address in case of that. I like chance encounters and synchronicity.

I have to determine how much time I can carve out in the daylight hours to work with him, if I do pursue him as a teacher, but I might just reach out to him from time-to-time for advice instead. I don’t mind leaning on someone for general guidance and figuring out specifics on my own.

He’s also a Talkbass member, apparently. 😉

Leave a Reply

