A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Practice: 11/23/11 – Jam Track Boogie Rock

I was reading a thread on TalkBass called How do I practice (or something similar 😉). In it, the original poster asks about details as to how to structure a practice session, and for warm-up drills. In reply #9, MalcolmAmos responds to him with some ideas and includes two practice jam tracks. I’ve never used one of these before, but I found the first one to be fun.

Jam Track Boogie Rock


.
The “chart” shows what notes/chords to play. MalcolmAmos recommended just playing roots at first. I think that’s a good way to get a feel for the rhythm and chord changes of the song. I tried doing it, and it was a bit quick for me at first, but I got the hang of it after a minute. Later on, if you’re comfortable enough, try it with triads or some other pattern.

The three notes that this revolves around are A, D & E. You can find the notes here:

  • A = E string, 5th fret
  • D = A string, 5th fret
  • E = A string, 7th fret

For those of you who have been practicing scales, these are the 1st, 4th and 5th scale degrees of the A Major (Ionian) scale. I think that this might be a I-IV-V progression… but I’ll worry about that when I actually read up on progressions.

If you’re new to this, like I am, just do the following:

After this, it just repeats. If you play it enough that you’re ok with that pattern, then try making your own pattern. MalcolmAmos has pointers about how to proceed in that same post.

Also, Happy Thanksgiving! 😉

One response

  1. sweetopiagirl

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

    November 25, 2011 at 3:24 pm

Leave a Reply

