A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Tiamat – Whatever That Hurts

Tiamat. I used to love this band, but haven’t followed them closely for a few years. This is a song from Wildhoney (1994), one of my favorite outings from the band. I place it on par with Spheres from Pestilence. It was groundbreaking to me. It took death metal and moved it into exciting territory for me, including doom and psychadelic rock.

Also, I love the bass in this song. The bass player at the time was John Hagel, but Johan Edlund wrote the music. He’s the founder and one constant in the band. I know next to nothing about Hagel, so that’s something I’ll explore later down the road. Previously, most of Tiamat’s music dealt with dreams and/or the state of dreaming. This one began to move in other directions, and it did so beautifully, in my view. Enjoy.

Tiamat – Whatever That Hurts


.
Lyrics:

Decoctions of Jimsonweed
Slimy trailing plants distil
Claustrophobia and blood-mixed seed
Cursed downstairs against my will
Cobweb sticks to molten years
Cockroaches served with cream
I wipe the silver bullet tears
And with every tear a dream
With every tear a dream…
Honey tea, psilocybe larvae
Honeymoon, silver spoon
Psilocybe tea
Energy trickles with the tide
Masterminds and the suicide squad
Drink acid water by my side
Stake the saviour of their daily fraud
Overfilled toothpaste tubes
Sleepless and timeless faces
Drippety drop on sugarcubes
The one eyed’s eye twinkles and gazes
Twinkles and gazes…
Honey tea, psilocybe larvae
Honeymoon, silver spoon
Psilocybe tea

Leave a Reply

