A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Archive for April 19, 2011

Second exercise

This is an exercise I did by accident for weeks, when I was going through Bass Guitar Secrets about 2-3 months ago. I’d read the tab upside down, because I like to practice late at night when I’m running on fumes and my head isn’t clear. The idea is that its supposed to help with flexibility when playing over multiple strings. It forces you to leave one finger behind when other fingers move up a string.

The exercise is in 4 parts. The first part isolates the index finger, the 2nd isolates the middle, then comes the ring and finally the pinky. Basically, each gets anchored to the E string (or whatever your lowest string is if you have more than 4) while the others move up. Its done in a position. This means that you can play it further up or down the neck when you’re ready.

If you have BGS Volume 1, the exercise that Alex Sampson wrote which I messed up to create this is Exercise 3, “Birds on a Wire“.

(more…)

Crowbar – Ace of Spades (Motorhead cover / live)

Crowbar – Ace of Spades (Motorhead cover, live 7/2000)

I love Crowbar. This is probably my favorite cover of Ace of Spades. Kirk Windstein is such a fat, doomy bastard. 😉