A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Archive for April 17, 2011

Dan Maines (bassist for Clutch & The Bakerton Group)

I love Dan Maines. His groove on early Clutch is the 2nd coming of Geezer Butler to me. His playing tells stories to my ear, unlike the overwhelming majority of rock bass players that I hear.

I remember an interview with Billy Sheehan in which he talked about bass lines and how they’ve changed over the years, from the 50s, 60s and 70s until now. He spoke about how bass lines were melodic and were an integral part of the song, how you could hum a bass line by itself and recognize the song it came from. He also observed how this changed with a lot of modern music.

An example that Sheehan gave was playing part of the bass line for “Stand By Me”. Its instantly identifiable if you’ve ever heard the song. He then played a few bars of repeated 8th notes and asked what song it was. It could have literally been any of dozens. I got his point.

(more…)