A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Ulver – England

Ulver – England

I know its not especially impressive in terms of bass, but I’m really enjoying the new Ulver CD, Wars of the Roses, especially this track. This might be what the community at Talkbass.com is talking about when they discuss playing less and serving the song. Here’s what he’s saying:

Mount the high horse
And dogs will follow

The scent of innocence
The wars of the roses

Sounding the charge
Down in history

The hand that offers
The heart is unfaithful

Full of broken promise
And hidden in the hollow

A blood-red coat
White to the bone

Fit for a queen
And the cloven foot

A trophy animal
A lost game

4 responses

  1. dogsear

    Apparently they’ve completely shed their black metal roots!

    April 13, 2011 at 11:45 am

    • vishalicious

      They’ve been evolving from their initial black metal for years. I used to drive with Perdition City (2000) a lot. Its electronica. 😉

      Ulver – Lost in Moments

      Ulver – Hallways of Always

      April 13, 2011 at 12:44 pm

      • dogsear

        Gee, who knew? (Well, apparently you did!)

        April 13, 2011 at 5:14 pm

      • vishalicious

        I know that you’ve been exploring black metal. I listen to a little of it, but I’m more of a death metal fan. 😉 If you’re interested in hearing some bands that started as death or black and progressed into other sounds, or mixed other styles into their metal, here are a few that I recommend. Many of these bands were around in the 80s and 90 and evolved and are still playing today:

        Amorphis – Compare old stuff like Karelian Isthmus (death) with mid-stuff like Tales from the Thousand Lakes (folk/death, melodic… I love that album) and then albums like My Kantele (acoustic). They’ve gone into something of a progressive sound now.

        Therion – Therion is the reason I don’t like Metallica’s S&M album. They started as death, evolved into some kind of progressive death (back in the early 90s, it was considered progressive) and then soared as a symphonic band. My wife and I listened to Theli and Vovin for years. To me, they define the genre, and do it much better than the bands that followed. Their later stuff doesn’t grab me as much. The reason they make me dislike Metallica’s symphonic album is that Metallica has millions of dollars, and what they produced (to me) was mediocre. Christofer Johnsson was ready to call it quits with his band, and took his last $50k and made Theli… and it was unbelievable. It revitalized the band and really opened up a rich genre of metal.

        Tiamat – Listen to Wildhoney, which to me is utterly spectacular. Then, listen to the way they evolved on A Deeper Kind of Slumber and every album that followed. Tiamat really blows my mind. My wife thinks they’re a little pansy at times, but I find it artistic. A very prominent theme for them is sleep, dreaming and dream-states.

        Paradise Lost – They’ve done it all. Death, black, regular metal, gothic metal, various kinds of electronic. They moved from a harsh sound into something more accessable today, but I think they they did it tastefully.

        There are a bunch of others, but they’re not necessarily metal, like Neurosis and Godflesh. I love those bands, but I don’t want to overwhelm you. 😉

        April 14, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Leave a Reply

