A beginner bassist's foray into the unknown

Archive for April 2, 2011

Rolling Stone Readers Pick the Top 10 Bassists of All Time

Rolling Stone did a poll on their readers’ favorite bass players last week. I saw the link to this on Yahoo a few days ago and then completely forgot about it. I’m not generally a Rolling Stone reader, so I wouldn’t even have remembered it if I didn’t see an ad for the magazine when I was elsewhere online.

But, without further ado, here’s the Rolling Stone Readers’ Top Ten Bass Players of All Time.


Blues Scale

So wifey has to work 1/2 a day today. They have to do that every few months on a Saturday. I dropped her off and came home half-asleep. After feeding the cats, I decided to grab the bass and get in a few mins of practice before I pass out again.

Last night, before bed, I read some more of Bass Guitar for Dummies. I went through the chapters on playing with a drummer, soloing and creating fills. It was basically chapters 6 & 7. Somewhere in the soloing and fills parts, it discussed more scales. Only, these weren’t 8-note scales. They only have 6 notes. The first is the Blues Scale, then comes the Minor Pentatonic and finally the Major Pentatonic.

(more…)


Steve DiGiorgio (fretless metal bassist)

Death. Testament. Autopsy.  These are bands that rose to prominence in the 80s and 90s in thrash and death metal. Do you know what they all had in common? Steve DiGiorgio on bass. Steve is a whirlwind of a player. He’s known for blazing speed and fretless playing. I’ve combed the internet, and I can’t find video interviews with him anywhere. However, his playing has become an important part of the fabric of metal history. When I think of heavy metal bass, the first person who comes to mind is Steve Harris. However, when I think extreme metal bass, the two players who always top the list for me are Alex Webster and DiGiorgio.

Steve is a blend of schooled and self-taught bassist. Interviews on the internet state that he played different instruments in school, including woodwind and brass, before moving on to stringed instruments. He learned to read standard notation in school as well. He says that when it comes to metal, however, he learned by ear, sitting by the radio and playing to albums.

(more…)